Univ. Politecnica delle Marche

European Business History Association

22nd Annual Congress

6-8 September 2018 - Ancona

BHA Best Paper and Dissertation Prizes 2018

EBHA's Best Paper Prize

Since 2009, the European Business History Association (EBHA) has awarded a prize for the best paper on European business history presented at its annual congress.
The prize consists of a certificate and a cash prize of €250.00. The winner will be announced and the prize presented at the annual meeting’s congress dinner.

Members of the 2018 EBHA Best Paper Prize Committee
Marten Boon, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway). Chair
Niklas Jensen-Eriksen, University of Helsinki (Finland)
Nuria Puig, Complutense University of Madrid (Spain) Anna Spadavecchia, Henley Business School, University of Reading (UK)

Papers that meet all of the following three criteria are eligible:

  1. the paper is on European business history; and
  2. the paper adheres to the maximum length; and
  3. the complete paper (not the extended abstract) is uploaded to the conference web site on or before the deadline specified below.
The term "European business history" is defined broadly, but it refers here to the topic of the paper, NOT to the author's nationality or place of residence.

The procedure for nominating papers is as follows: Members of the best paper prize committee are ineligible for the prize. The Best Paper Prize Committee’s decision is final, and it reserves the right not to award a prize in any given year. All members of the Best Paper Prize Committee are not allowed to discuss their decision outside the committee. The Best Paper Prize Committee will never give any reason for its decisions.

EBHA Dissertation Prize 2018

During the 22nd Annual Congress of European Business History Association September 6-8, 2018, Ancona, Italy the EBHA will award a prize for the best dissertation in business history submitted to a European university in the previous two years (The dissertation should have been accepted prior to the hand-in dead-line, April 30, 2018). Eligible dissertations may be in any European language.

Three finalists will be selected from the dissertations submitted for consideration, and the authors will be required to give a presentation based on their dissertations at a plenary session at the EBHA congress in Ancona. All three finalists will receive a certificate that they have been among the short-listed candidates and will be eligible for reimbursement of part of their travel costs. All three will also be eligible for a waiver of their registration fees for the conference. In addition, the prize winner will receive EUR 500 and a special certificate. The finalists are invited to have written versions of their presentations published in the Newsletter of EBHA. The prize and the travel cost reimbursement fund have been funded since 2010 by the William Lind Foundation, located in Scotland.

Members of the 2018 EBHA Dissertation Prize Committee:

Ann-Kristin Bergquist (Chairperson), Umeå University
Adoración Álvaro, Colegio Universitario de Estudios Financieros (CUNEF, Madrid)
Peter Miskell, University of Reading

Procedure for entry

All candidates wishing to enter the prize competition must meet the criteria indicated above and must attach a summary of 1-2 pages of their dissertation to the application along with a printed copy of the dissertation itself. The candidate must document that the thesis has been accepted. If possible an assessment report should be added to the application. Supervisors of candidates may also be invited by the candidate to write a 1 page recommendation outlining the strong points of the thesis. Recommendation and assessment reports are, however, optional, and absence of these documents will not count against the candidate in the competition.

A printed paper version of the dissertation and accompanying documentation as specified above must be submitted for consideration to the following address:

Associate Professor Ann-Kristin Bergquist
Economic History
Department of Geography and Economic History
Umeå University
90187 Umeå

In addition, an identical electronic version of the dissertation and accompanying documentation as specified above in PDF format, should be submitted by email to ann-kristin.bergquist@umu.se.

The deadline for application for the prize is 30 April 2018. Dissertations submitted after this date, submitted only in electronic form, or submitted without a summary and a documentation of acceptance, will not be considered further.

For more information about the Dissertation prize (for example the criteria for judging), we refer you to the EBHA website: http://ebha.org/?seite=dissertation_prize.